Tayebwa names seven member team to investigate NSSF


By Mary Asujo

The Deputy Speaker of Parliament Thomas Tayebwa has announced in today’s plenary session the seven member select committee that will investigate the mismanagement and corruption in the National Social Security Fund (NSSF).

While communicating to MPs, Tayebwa said that the committee members were appointed by the speaker of Parliament Anita Among after consulting the appointees.

Among those announced include; Mp Mwine Mpaka of Mbarara City South who will be the chairperson, Karim Masaba of Mbale Municipality, Michael Kakembo Entebbe Municipality, Rose Nantongo woman MP Kyotera District, Amos Kukunda of Rwampara Constituency, Charles Bakkabulindi representing workers in Parliament and Laura Kanushu representing People with Disabilities.

The committee members have been tasked to examine the co-operation structure of NSSF, circumstances surrounding the reappointment of the fund Managing Director, to evaluate the status and safety of the savers money in the fund and any other issues concerning NSSF and report back to parliament after a month.

Meanwhile, the Opposition whip, Hon. John Baptist Nambeshe protested that Workers MP, Hon. Charles Bakkabulindi should not be on the NSSF seven member team to investigate the matter because it would be conflict of interest since he is worker’s MP.

The State minister of defence and veteran Affairs, Hon. Markson Oboth Oboth told the members that there is nothing wrong with having Hon. Bakkabulindi on the team. He added that when it comes to conflict of interest, there is a procedure where a member has to declare his or her interest and therefore there is no better person that Hon. Bakkabulindi after all he representatives the workers.

Hon. Tayebwa guided that they will consult with the government whip and pronounces on it.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here