FDC expels 3 party members who opted to run as Independents


The opposition Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) has dismissed party members who opted to run against party flag-bearers in the forthcoming 2021 elections.

According to a letter 3 party members including Ingrid Turinawe, Winnie Babihuga and Tweyambe Darius ceased to be members of the FDC the moment they defied the party constitution and decided to contest as independents against party flags.

Quoting Article 12(d) of the FDC Constitution, FDC Secretary General Hon Nandala Mafabi said any party member who campaigns for an independent or otherwise must be dismissed from the party.

“As per 12d, if a member joins another party or in an election stands as an independent, ceases to be a member of FDC” said Hon. Mafabi in a December 07 letter signed under his names.

“The entire public is hereby informed that those independent candidates are not members of FDC and have no moral authority to act on behalf of FDC.” Hon. Mafabi noted.

The three opted to run against FDC flagbearers in Rukungiri and Kanungu districts where the party flagbearers; Dr Waren Nuwagaba, Betty Muzanira, Charles Makulu, Fred Turyamuhweza and Namanya Naboth are contesting for diffferent seats on FDC ticket.

The story will be updated.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here