Tough test for McKnistry as Cranes seek positive start at AFCON 2021 qualifiers

Uganda Cranes head coach Johnny McKinstry with the squad; Photo Credit Fufa Media

By Mulanzi Robert

AFCON 2021 Qualifiers (Group B): Wednesday, 13th November 2019: Burkina Faso Vs Uganda Cranes; Stade du 4 Août 1983, Ouagadougou (10 PM)

Uganda cranes will kick- start the AFCON 2021 qualifiers away from home against Burkina Faso on Wednesday, 13th November 2019 at Stade du 4 Août 1983, Ouagadougou (10 PM). This is one of the two games in group B. Malawi hosts South Sudan in the other contest away in Blantyre.

Today’s game could be a tough test to the squad being the second competitive match for newly appointed Uganda Cranes head coach Johnny McKinstry, whose first game away was that slim 1-0 victory in the international friendly match over Ethiopia last month.

In the previous five meetings between these two countries, Burkina Faso has won twice, Uganda Cranes has one win and two stalemates.

“We shall look for a positive result away from home so that we kick off the campaign on a strong footing” McKinstry said.

Before more foreign players joined the camp, the local based players had a region tour to the North East winning 4-0 Katawi select team.

Uganda Cranes Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Robert Odongkara (Horoya AC, Guinea), Charles Lukwago (KCCA, Uganda)

Right Backs: Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Bevis Mugabi (Motherwell, Scotland)

Left Backs: Isaac Muleme (Viktoria Zizkov, Czech Republic), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, Democratic Republic of Congo)

Central Defenders: Murushid Jjuuko (Wydad Casablanca, Morocco), Timothy Denis Awany (Sport Club Ironi Ashdod, Israel), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (Jeddah, Saudi Arabia), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers, Uganda)

Holding Midfielders: Michael Azira (Chicago Fire, USA), Khalid Aucho (Misr Lel Makasa, Egypt), Tadeo Lwanga (Tanta, Egypt), Nicholas Kasozi (KCCA, Uganda)

Offensive Midfielders: Allan Okello (KCCA, Uganda), Allan Kyambadde (El Gouna, Egypt), Farouk Miya (Konyaspor, Turkey), Abdu Lumala (Pyramids, Egypt), William Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karaganda, Kazahstan)

Forwards: Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Ittihad Alexandria, Egypt), Patrick Henry Kaddu (RS Berkane, Morocco), Alexis Bbakka (Carlstad United BK, Sweden), Fahad Bayo (Vipers, Uganda).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here