Nominations of candidates for Bukimbiri and Gogonyo Parliamentary Byelections set for today

A voter casting a ballot during the 2016 general elections; Online Photo

The Electoral Commission (EC) will conduct nomination of candidates in Gogonyo county, Pallisa district and Bukimbiri county, Kisoro district today Monday 1st and Tuesday 2nd August, 2022 ahead of parliamentary Byelections on August 11, 2022.

The nomination of candidates in Gogonyo will be held at the Office of the District Returning Officer, Pallisa while in Bukimbiri the process will be at the RO’s office Kisoro district.

Both the Parliamentary seats for Gogonyo County and Bukimbiri fell vacant following court ruling which set aside the results of the 2021 Elections and ordered fresh elections.

The ruling NRM has already endorsed Hon. Eddie Kwizera as their flagbearer in the race for Bukimbiri while Hon. Derrick Orone is set to lift the NRM flag in Gogonyo.

According to the EC roadmap, nominated candidates will conduct campaign meetings for seven (7) days, that is, from Wednesday 3rd August till Tuesday 9th August, 2022.

Polling and tallying of results for by-election of Member of Parliament will be conducted on Thursday 11th August, 2022.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here