NRM CEC endorses Six nominees for party flag in race for EALA MP Seat

Six approved by NRM CEC to vie for party flag in race for EALA; File Photo

The ruling National Resistance Movement party (NRM) Central executive Committee (CEC) has endorsed six (6) nominees for the East African Legislative Assembly MP seat which fell vacant recently.

According to the NRM Secretary General Hon Richard Twodong, the CEC meeting held on July 13, resolved to have Hon James Kakooza, Hon Kiwanda Suubi, Hon Lule Umar Mawiya, Mr Mutumba Abbas, Ms Nakato Nyabangi and Mr Nsubuga Kenneth Sebayunga vie for the party flag.

Previously, 26 people had expressed interest in the seat which fell vacant in April this year following the death of former Kakuto MP, Hon Mathias Kasamba, who was elected to the position in 2016.

This means those previously on the long list including the likes of Hon Maganda Julius, Hajjat Faridah Mayanja Mpima, Dr Sarah Nkonge, Hon Patrick Nakabale, Hon Kalule Sengo will either run as independent or quit.

According to Hon Twodong, the six names will be forwarded to the NRM parliamentary caucus which will then elect the party flagbearer for the said EALA position this Friday, on 16th July 2021. The event will be at Kololo Independence grounds.

In respect of the leadership of the NRM parliamentary caucus, Hon Aber Lilian came out unopposed while other nominees were approved for the respective positions.

CEC approved Hon Kinobere Herbert, Hon Lokii Baptist, Hon Atimgiw Issac and Hon Taka Agnes for the position of Vice Chairperson. It also approved Hon Atwijukire Dan Kimosho, Hon Auma Helen Wandera and Hon Kintu Allex for the position of the caucus publicity secretary, while Hon Akello Christine, Hon Kamateneti Josyline, Hon Najjuma Sarah and Hon Nakut Faith Loru will were approved for the caucus treasurer.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here