Parliament approves 46 new counties, more seats, a bigger house

Local Gov't minister Raphael Magyezi presented a motion on new counties during a session of parliament; Parliament Watch Photo

Parliament has approved the new counties as proposed by the minister of local government, Hon. Raphael Magyezi pushing the number of constituencies from 296 to 353.

This followed his motion for a Resolution of Parliament under Article 179 Clause 4 of the Constitution providing for creation of the same. The new counties are:

Buyanja East County out of Buyanja County in Kibaale District,
Ngariam County out of Usuk County in Katakwi District,
Agago West county out of Agago County in Agago District,
Bukanga North county out of Bukanga county in Isingiro District,
Bukimbiri county out of Bufumbira County in Kisoro District,
Nakaseke central county out of Nakaseke North county,
Kiboga West county out of Kiboga East County,
Buhweju West county out of Buhweju county in Buhweju District,
Palabek county out of Lamwo county in Lamwo District,
Bugangaizi South county out of Bugangaizi West, Kakumiro District,
Chweki East county out of Cweki in Nakapiripirit District,
Buwekula South out of Buwekula county Mubende District,
Kwania North county out of Kwania county in Kwania District,
West Budama Centra;l out of Budama county in Tororo District,
Kagoma North out of Kagoma county in Jinja District,
Kapir County out of Ngora county in Ngora District,
Kioga North county out of Kioga county in Amolatar District,
Napore West county out of Dodoth West in Karenga District,
Mawogola West county out of Mawogola county in Sembabule District,
Otuke East county out of Otuke county in Otuke District,
Ruhama East county out of Ruhama in Ntungamo District,
Isingiro West out of Isingiro county in Isingiro District,
T’oo county out of Kongasis county in Bukwo District,
Ochero county out of Kaberamido county in Kaberamaido district.
Soi county out of Kween county in Kween District,
Namisindwa county out of Bubulo East county in Namisindwa District,
Gweri county out of Soroti county in Soroti District,
Pingire county out of Kasilo county in Serere District,
Bunghoko central county out of Bunghoko in Mbale District,
Aringa East county out of Aringa county in Yumbe District,
Kyaka central county out of Kyaka Nrth county in Kyegegwa District,
Ruhinda south county out of Ruhinda county in Mitooma District,
Bushigai county out of Manjiya county in Bududa District,
Gogonya county out of Agule county in Palisa District,
Busiki North county out of Busiki in Namutumba District,
Butiru county out of Bubulo West county in Manafwa District,
Maruzi North county out of Maruzi county in Apac District,
Dodoth North county out of Dodoth East county in Kaabong District,
Rwanpara East county out of Rwanpara in Rwampara District,
West Budama North East county out of West Budama in Tororo District,
buhaguzi East county out of Buhaguzi county in Kikuube District,
Namayingo south county out of Bukooli south in Namayingo District,
Elgon North county out of Elgon county in Bulamuli District,
Nwoya East county out of Nwoya in Nwoya District,
Samia Bugwe central county out of Samia Bugwe county in Busi District.

Following the approval by Parliament of 46 new Counties the 11th Parliament is anticipated to have 527 MPs if Parliament considers the Motion for creation of 5 seats for the Elderly Persons and the additional District Women Representatives.

In the same breath, parliament approved a motion by Hon Magyezi to bring forward the commencement date for the cities of Lira, Soroti and Hoima to I July 2020.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here