Museveni reshuffles Cabinet, – The winners and losers; Full List

President Yoweri Museveni; File

After a long period of speculation, President Museveni has finally made a cabinet reshuffle in which many long serving ministers retained their offices, and brought new ministers on board.

In the cabinet list released today, Museveni retained Edward Kiwanuka Sekandi as Vice President, Ruhakana Rugunda as Prime Minister, Gen. Moses Ali and Kirunda Kivejinja as first and second deputy prime ministers.

New entrants include the youthful legislator Hamson Obua in the Sports Ministry, Judith Nabakooba to ICT, Rafael Magyezi to Local government, Beatrice Atim Anywar as State Minister for Environment, Peter Ogwang to State Minister for ICT, Molly Kamukama to the Economic Monitoring ministry, and Nabbanja Robinah as State Minister for Health.

However, the reshuffle dropped Hajat Janat Mukwaya, Hon Irene Muloni, Eng. Ntege Azuba, and Hajji Abdu Nadduli to the position of senior presidential advisors.

Erios Aidah Nantaba and Bakkabulindi were dropped completely.

The Full Cabinet List

I hereby inform the country that in Exercise of the Powers vested in the President by Articles 99(1), 108(2), 108A(1), 113(1) and 114(1) of the 1995 Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, I have, in pursuance of the goals of the NRM and Ugandans in general, made minor changes to the Cabinet. I have appointed persons listed below as Vice President, Prime Minister, Cabinet Ministers, Ministers of State and Senior Presidential Advisors:

1. H.E. the Vice President ─ HON. KIWANUKA EDWARD SSEKANDI;

2. Rt. Hon. Prime Minister ─ DR. RUHAKANA RUGUNDA;

3. 1stDeputy Prime Minister ─ GEN. MOSES ALI; & Deputy Leader of Gov’t Business in Parliament

4. 2nd Deputy Prime Minister and Minister without portfolio ─ HON. KIRUNDA KIVEJINJA;

5. Minister of Education and ─ HON. MUSEVENI Sports JANET KATAAHA;

6. Minister of the Presidency ─ HON. MBAYO ESTHER MBULAKUBUZA;

7. Minister in Charge of General Duties ─ HON. BUSINGYE MARY KAROORO OKURUT;

8. Minister of Disaster Preparedness & Refugees ─ HON. ONEK HILARY;

9. Government Chief Whip ─ HON. NANKABIRWA SENTAMU RUTH;

10. Minister of East African Affairs ─ MAJ. GEN.KAHINDA OTAFIIRE;

11. Minister of Security ─ HON.GEN. ELLY TUMWINE;

12. Minister of Defence and ─ HON. MWESIGE Veteran Affairs ADOLF;

13. Minister of Foreign ─ HON. KUTESA Affairs KAHAMBA SAM;

14. Minister of Internal Affairs ─ GEN. JEJE ODONGO;

15. Minister of Trade, ─ HON. KYAMBADDE Industry& Cooperatives AMELIA ANNE;

16. Minister of Finance and Economic Planning ─ HON. KASAIJA MATIA;

17. Minister of Energy and Minerals ─ HON. KITUTU MARY;

18. Minister of Tourism, Wildlife & Antiquities ─ HON. BUTIME TOM;

19. Minister of Local Government ─ HON. RAFAEL MAGYEZI;

20. Minister of Works and ─ GEN. KATUMBA Transport WAMALA;

21. Minister of Lands, Housing & Urban development. ─ HON. KAMYA BETTY;

22. Minister for Kampala and Metropolitan Affairs ─ HON. AMONGI BETTY;

23. Minister of Health ─ DR. ACENG JANE;

24. Minister of Public Service ─ HON. MURULI MUKASA;

25. Minister of Justice ─ HON. KAMUNTU & Constitutional Affairs EPHRAIM;


27. Minister of Water & Environment ─ HON. CHEPTORIS SAM;

28. Minister for Karamoja Affairs ─ HON. BYABAGAMBI JOHN;

29. Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation ELIODA TUMWESIGYE;

30. Minister of Gender, Labour ─ HON. TUMWEBAZE & Social Affairs FRANK;

31. Minister of Information, ICT and Communications ─ JUDITH NABAKOOBA;

32. Minister of Agriculture, ─ HON. SSEMPIJJA Animal Industry & VINCENT Fisheries BAMULANGAKI.

MINISTERS OF STATE: Office of the President:

1. Minister of State for ─ HON. LOKODO Ethics and Integrity SIMON;

2. Minister of State for Economic Monitoring ─ MRS. MOLLY KAMUKAMA NAWE MOLLY;

Office of the Vice President:

3. Minister of State ─ HON. KASIRIVU Vice President’s Office BALTAZAH ATWOKI;

Office of the Prime Minister:

4. Minister of State for Relief and Disaster ─ HON. ECWERU Preparedness MUSA FRANCIS;

5. Minister of State for ─ HON. KIZIGE MOSES; Karamoja

6. Minister of State for Bunyoro Affairs ─ HON. KIIZA ERNEST;

7. Minister of State ─ HON. GALABUZI for Luwero Triangle-Rwenzori DENNIS SSOZI;

8. Minister of State for ─ HON. KWIYUUCWINY Northern Uganda GRACE;

9. Minister of State for ─ HON. AKIROR AGNES; Teso Affairs

Ministry of Educationand Sports

10. Minister of State for Higher ─ DR. MUYINGO JOHN Education CHRYSOSTOM;

11. Minister of State for ─ HON. NANSUBUGA Primary Education, ROSEMARY SENINDE;

12. Minister of State for Sports ─ HON. OBUA DENIS HAMSON; Ministry of East African Affairs.

13. Minister of State for ─ HON. MAGANDA East African Affairs JULIUS WANDERA; Ministry of Defence and Veteran Affairs

14. Minister of State for Defence ─ COL. ENGOLA OKELLO;

15. Minister of State for ─ HON. KIBAZANGA Veteran Affairs CHRISTOPHER; Ministry of Foreign Affairs:

16. Minister of State for ─ HON. ORYEM International Affairs OKELLO;

17. Minister of State for ─ DR. MATEKE Regional Affairs PHELEMON; Ministry of Internal Affairs

18. Minister of State for Internal Affairs ─ HON. OBIGA KANIA; Ministry of Trade and Industry and Cooperatives:

19. Minister of State for ─ HON. KAFABUSA Trade WERIKHE MICHEAL;

20. Minister of State for ─ HON. GUME Cooperatives FREDRICK NGOBI; Ministry of Finance, Planning & Economic Development:

21. Minister of State for Finance ─ HON. AJEDRA (General) GABRIEL GADISON; ARIDRU;

22. Minister of State for Planning ─ HON. BAHATI DAVID; 23. Minister of State for ─ HON. ANITE EVELYN; Privatization and Investment

24. Minister of State for Micro- ─ HON. KYEYUNE Finance HARUNA KASOLO; Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development:

25. Minister of State for Minerals ─ HON. ACHIENG SARAH OPENDI;

26. Minister of State for Energy ─ HON. D’UJANGA SIMON; Ministry of Tourism, Wildlife and Antiquities:

27. Minister of State for ─ HON. KIWANDA Tourism GODFREY; Ministry of Local Government

28. Minister of State for ─ HON. NAMUYANGU Local Government JENNIFFER; Ministry of Works and Transport:

29. Minister of State for ─ HON. LOKERIS Works AIMAT PETER;

30. Minister of State for ─ MRS. KABATSI JOY; Transport

Ministry of Lands, Housing and Urban Development:

31. Minister of State for ─ HON. MUSUMBA Urban Development ISAAC;

32. Minister of State for ─ HON. NAMUGANZA Lands PERSIS;

33. Minister of State for ─ DR. BARYOMUNSI Housing CHRIS; Ministry of

Kampala and Metropolitan Affairs:

34. Kampala Capital City ─ HON. NAMUGWANYA Authority BENNA;

Ministry of Health:

35. Minister of State for ─ HON. NABBANJA Health (General) ROBINAH;

36. Minister of State for ─ DR. MORIKU JOYCE Primary Health Care KADUCU; Ministry of Public Service:

37. Minister of State for ─ HON. KARUBANGA Public Service DAVID;

Ministry of Justice and Constitutional Affairs:

38. Deputy Attorney General ─ MR. KAFUUZI JACKSON; Ministry of Water and Environment:

39. Minister of State for Water ─ HON. KIBUULE RONALD;

40. Minister of State for ─ HON. ANYWAR Environment BEATRICE ATIM;

Ministry of ICT and Communications.

41. Minister of State for ICT and ─ HON. OGWANG PETER;

Ministry of Gender, Labour and Social Development:

42. Minister of State for Youth and ─ MRS. NAKIWALA Children Affairs FLORENCE KIYINGI;

43. Minister of State for Gender ─ MS. MUTUUZO and Culture PEACE;

44. Minister of State for Labour, Employment and Industrial Relations ─ HON. MWESIGWA RUKUTANA;

45. Minister of State for the Elderly⎼ and Disability Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Husbandry and Fisheries

46. Minister of State for ─ HON. BAGIIRE Agriculture AGGREY;

47. Minister of State for Animal ─ HON. RWAMIRAMA and Veterinary Affairs BRIGHT;

48. Minister of State for Fisheries ─ MS. ADOA HELLEN.








SIGNED this ………………… of ………, in the Year of our Lord Two Thousand Nineteen. Yoweri Kaguta Museveni PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here