MP Zaake to face Disciplinary Committee for Insulting Deputy Speaker Anita Among

Mityana Municipality MP Francis Zaake; Courtesy Photo

The fate of Parliamentary Commissioner and Mityana Municipality MP Hon Francis Zaake, now lies with the Parliamentary Committee on Rules, Privileges and Discipline after the legislator was pinned over alleged misconduct and misbehavior.

During plenary sitting on Tuesday, 15 February 2022, Members of Parliament accused Zaake of insulting the integrity of Parliament after he took to social media and used offensive language to express his dissatisfaction with the Deputy Speaker Anita Among’s statement regarding his alleged torture.

In his Twitter post, Zaake regarded the Deputy Speaker as a dishonest person, an idiot and a loose canon who lacks “intelligential prowess”

“To my consternation, the Deputy Speaker of Parliament while presiding over a session of parliament controverted the finding of High Court in Suit No. 85 of 2020 that I was tortured by sarcastically stating but with the utmost level of recklessness that though tortured, Won a medal in E.A @Parliament_Ug games. The utter bunkum emanating 4m her dishonest lips was only intended 2 mock & break me down, this is idiocy! Parliament deserves better, how a person of her calibre lack intelligential prowess 2 appreciate that healing is a natural phenomenon! The loose cannon in her couldn’t contemplate the duty that her office owes members and the country at large, disturbingly she ejaculated while presiding over a session to condemn torture, aah! How hypocritical, shame upon you!” Zaakes’s February 9 post reads.

Raising on a matter of national importance, Hon Martin Ojara Mapenduzi (Bardege-Layibi Division) said that he intended to move a motion to have Zaake relieved of his duties as a commissioner for denigrating the integrity of Parliament and Office of the Speaker in breach of Rules 84 and 85 of the Rules of Procedure and Paragraph 5 of the Code of Conduct of Members.

“All of us may have our own emotions and issues to deal with but there are avenues in our Rules of Procedure through which anything done by the presiding officer can be challenged. The member never exercised any of the remedies provided in the rules but chose to go to social media,” Mapenduzi said.

Legislator after legislator, the members stood to denounce Zaake’s misbehavior which other said doesn’t reflect the character of an honorable MP.

“The intention was to damage, lower the character and status of the Speaker and the reputation of this Parliament. It is our obligation to defend Parliament from any attack. We need to enact laws to check cyber bullying, cyber harassment, blackmail and intimidation,” Soroti West Division MP, Hon Jonathan Ebwalu said adding that Zaake’s use of unparliamentary language on social media against the person of the Deputy Speaker was in bad faith and demeans the office of the Speaker and institution of parliament.

Deputy Speaker, Anita Among, later referred the matter to the Committee on Rules, Privileges and Discipline for further investigations.

“Our Constitution dictates a fair hearing before a decision is taken as we continue with other processes. I will therefore, guide that this matter is referred to the Committee on Rules, Privileges and Discipline and the committee must report back within two weeks,” Among said.

Rule 110 of the Rules of Procedure states that a Member of the Commission, other than the Speaker or the Leader of Government Business, Leader of the Opposition or the Minister of finance may be removed from office by Parliament for incompetence, misconduct insanity or inability to perform the functions of his or her office arising from infirmity of body or mind.

Under sub rule 2, a motion for a resolution for the removal of a Commissioner shall be initiated by a notice in writing to the Clerk, signed by not less than one third of all the voting Members of Parliament indicating their intention for moving the motion for the removal.

Under sub rule 6, a Commissioner shall be removed upon the vote of at least half of all voting Members of Parliament.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here