Dr. Kazimba Elected new Archbishop Church of Uganda

Dr. Mugalu Kazimba

The Church of Uganda has announced Dr Stephen Kaziimba Mugalu as the 9th Archbishop.

The Dean Church of Uganda Rt. Rev. Edson Erigei made the announcement at the Provincial Secretariat at Namirembe.

Kazimba will succeed The Most Rev. Stanley Ntagali who will step down as Archbishop early next year, after clocking 65 years which is the mandatory retirement age of the Archbishop of the Church of Uganda.

Erigei announced that the vote which took place today was a secret ballot and that Kazimba was elected with more than two thirds majority.

Kazimba was in the race with Bukedi Diocesan Bishop Rt. Rev Samuel Egesa and Rt. Rev Sheldon Mwesigwa of Ankole Diocese.

Kazimba was born on 15th August 1962 in Buikwe Najja to Besweri Kaddu and Jessica Nanyonjo. He was born again as a Christian in 1984.

“This is a new calling, a new challenge and a new opportunity for the gospel. Pray for us that God’s name will be exalted,” Dr. Kazimba said after the election.

He attained a diploma and undergraduate degree in Theology from Uganda Christian University (UCU) Mukono and received his Masters in Divinity and Doctorate of Ministry from Western Theological Seminary Michigan, USA.

Bishop Kazimba is married to Margret Nagayi Bulya and has four children.

On 22nd August 2018, during the 24th provincial assembly, ArchBishop Stanley Ntagali announced his intention to retire by 65th birthday on 1st March 2020.

Ntagali has served as 8th Archbishop of Church of uganda.

He was elected on 22nd June 2012 and was installed as Archbishop on 16 December 2012 at St Paul Cathedral Namirembe.

Under his 7-year tenure, Ntagali consecrated 21 Bishops and launched three new Dioceses.

The installation of the new Archbishop is expected to take place on 1st March 2020 at St Paul Cathedral Namirembe.

The presiding Bishop at the enthronement will be the Dean of the province who is the longest serving in Church of Uganda at that time.

Between now and 1st March 2020, Ntagali will continue to serve as Archbishop and Bishop of Kampala Diocese.

The Archbishop elect will say farewell to his Diocese and prepare to move to Kampala.

His current Diocese will elect new Bishop since he will leave his Diocese to also become the Bishop of Kampala Diocese.

The first Archbishop of the Church of Uganda was Leslie Brown a British missionary who was the Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Boga – Zaire the present day Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) from 1961 – 1966.

He was succeeded by Archbishop Erica Sabiiti from 1966 – 1974.

The third Archbishop was Janan Luwum from 1974 – 1977.

The fourth was ArchBishop Silvanus Wani from 1977 – 1983.

In 1980, Rwanda, Burundi and Boga – Zaire became a separate francophone province and Uganda became its own province.

The fifth Archbishop was Yona Okoth from 1983 – 1995

The sixth was Arch Bishop Livingston Mpalanyi Nkoyoyo from 1995 – 2004

The seventh was Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi from 2004 – 2012

The current and eighth Archbishop is Stanley Ntagali who was consecrated in 2012.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here