EC Releases Election Program for New Districts


The Electoral Commission has released the election program for interim leadership in the newly created Bugweri and Kikuube Districts. According to the program, the Commission has appointed Thursday, 25th July 2019 as polling day for election of Interim District Chairpersons.

The communication published on the Commission’s official website indicates that voting in these elections shall be by Electoral College and secret ballot. It will also be conducted at the headquarters of the respective new district starting at 9;00am.

The newly created Bugweri District was carved out of Iganga District, while Kikuube District was created out of Hoima District.

Speaking to this website, the Deputy Spokesperson of the Commission Mr. Paul Bukenya said that the Commission does not expect a lot since Electoral Colleges involve few people, but called on the people in the two districts to support the process to elect the interim leadership in order to operationalize the districts.

The Electoral College shall comprise of District directly Elected Councillors and District Women Councillors representing the electoral areas forming the new districts.

The interim leadership will take on the leadership of these districts up to the next General Elections expected to take place in 2021.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here